Scientific Board

Scientific Board

The Scientific Board of the National Research Institute of Animal Production for the years 2017-2021 consists of 38 people including:

  • 19 research and scientific-technical workers from the Institute
  • 19 people from outside the Institute.

On the basis of  Article 30 Paragraph 5 of the Act on research institutes (Journal of Laws of 2016, item 371, as amended), the Scientific Board of the Institute is also composed of Director and Deputy Director for Scientific Affairs. According to the Article 30 Paragraph 5 of the Act on research institutes in fine, the aforementioned are not numbered among the people specified in the Institute’s statute.

The Institute possesses authorization to confer the Ph.D. and habilitated doctor of agricultural sciences degree in the discipline of zootechnics and the Ph.D. of agricultural sciences in the discipline biotechnology.

President of the Scientific Board

  • Prof. Eugeniusz Grela, Ph.D.

Deputy Presidents of the Scientific Board

  • Prof. Dorota Kowalska, Ph.D.
  • Prof. Mariusz Pietras, Ph.D.


Members who are the employees of the National Research Institute of Animal Production

  1. Prof. Sylwester Świątkiewicz, Ph.D.
  2. Prof. Paweł Bielański, Ph.D.
  3. Prof. Mariusz Pietras, Ph.D.
  4. Mirosław Lisowski, Ph.D.
  5. Aldona Kawęcka, Ph.D.
  6. Małgorzata Świątkiewicz, Ph.D.
  7. Grzegorz Żak, Ph.D., Prof. of NRIAP
  8. Mirosław Tyra, Ph.D., Prof. of NRIAP
  9. Prof. Barbara Niwińska, Ph.D.
  10. Prof. Dorota Kowalska, Ph.D.
  11. Prof. Eugeniusz Herbut, Ph.D.
  12. Marek Pieszka, Ph.D.
  13. Prof. Beata Szymczyk, Ph.D.
  14. Prof. Ewa Hanczakowska, Ph.D.
  15. Anna Radko, Ph.D.
  16. Prof. Maria Skrzyszowska, Ph.D.
  17. Prof. Józefa Krawczyk, Ph.D.
  18. Eng. Jan Knapik, Ph.D.
  19. Waldemar Korol, Ph.D.

Members appointed by the Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development:

  1. Eng. Hanna Kostrzewska, M.Sc. – Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development
  2. Eng. Adam Ślusarczyk, M.Sc. – Małopolski Department of the Agency for Restructuring and Modernization of Agriculture
  3. Eng. Adam Tański, M.Sc. – Grain & Feed Chamber
  4. 4Eng. Władysław Brejta, Ph.D. – Simmental Cattle Breeders Association, Hucul Horse Breeders Association
  5. Vet. Surgeon Bogdan Konopka, Ph.D. – Świętokrzyski Provincial Veterinary Surgeon
  6. Prof. Eugeniusz Grela, Ph.D. – University of Life Sciences in Lublin
  7. Prof. Roman Niżnikowski, Ph.D. – Warsaw University of Life Sciences
  8. Prof. Jan Udała, Ph.D. – West Pomeranian University of Technology in Szczecin
  9. Prof. Wojciech Kapelański, Ph.D. – UTP University of Science and Technology in Bydgoszcz
  10. Prof. Tomasz Szwaczkowski, Ph.D. – Poznań University of Life Sciences
  11. Prof. Ryszard Słomski, Ph.D. – Institute of Human Genetics of the Polish Academy of Sciences in Poznań
  12. Prof. Tadeusz Trziszka, Ph.D. – Wrocław University of Environmental and Life Sciences
  13. Prof. Marek Łukaszewicz, Ph.D. – Institute of Genetics and Animal Breeding of the Polish Academy of Sciences in Jastrzębiec
  14. Prof. Janusz Żmija, Ph.D. – University of Agriculture in Kraków
  15. Prof. Włodzimierz Popek, Ph.D. – University of Agriculture in Kraków
  16. Prof. Jan Jankowski, Ph.D. – University of Warmia and Mazury in Olsztyn
  17. Prof. Jacek Kuźmak, Ph.D. – National Veterinary Research Institute – State Research Institute in Puławy
  18. Eng. Henryk Skórnicki, Ph.D. – Agricultural Advisory Centre in Brwinów / Branch in Radom
  19. Andrej Sutkowski, M.Sc. – National Agricultural Support Centre

The Commission for the Development of Scientific Staff

  1. Prof. Paweł Bielański, Ph.D.
  2. Prof. Eugeniusz Herbut, Ph.D.
  3. Aldona Kawęcka, Ph.D.
  4. Prof. Dorota Kowalska, Ph.D.
  5. Prof. Mariusz Pietras, Ph.D.
  6. Prof. Maria Skrzyszowska, Ph.D.
  7. Prof. Sylwester Świątkiewicz, Ph.D.
  8. Grzegorz Żak, Ph.D., Prof. of NRIAP

The Committee for Research Projects

  1. Jacek Walczak, Ph.D.
  2. Prof. Maria Skrzyszowska, Ph.D.
  3. Małgorzata Świątkiewicz, Ph.D., Prof. of NRIAP
  4. Mirosław Tyra, Ph.D., Prof. of NRIAP
  5. Prof. Paweł Bielański, Ph.D.
  6. Prof. Barbara Niwińska, Ph.D.

The Committee for Research Facilities Development

  1. Eng. Władysław Brejta, Ph.D.
  2. Eng. Waldemar Korol, Ph.D.
  3. Prof. Beata Szymczyk, Ph.D.


Eng. Anna Bereta, M.Sc.
Tel.: +48 666 081 218
e-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
1 Krakowska Street
32-083 Balice